Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Newbie and future owner S-Type 4.2 MY2003

Post Thanks / Like

Newbie and future owner S-Type 4.2 MY2003

Hi all,

I'm about to buy a used S-Type 4.2 MY2003, which has a substantial amount of kms (over 160.000 kms, so around 100k miles). VIN is SAJAA01RX3HM87357.

I'm new to Jaguar, come from a Saab history, so sorry for asking naive questions.

Are there some car features to monitor specifically? I know that the automatic transmission oil need to be changed, even if the car manufacturer don't advice to do it.
    Are there some weak points to check out? I already read some post for XJ/XJR V8 which had nikasil and timing chain tensioner problems before 2002. Same kind
    of weaknesses ?

Also, for Saab (to refer to something I know); you can easily get the WIS (Workshop manual software) and the EPC (Parts catalogue software). Is it the same
    for Jaguar?

Thanks a lot for your help.

Post Thanks / Like
    The 4.2 litre engine does not have the problems of the previous 4 litre and is a reliable unit.

Where S-types (and also cars like my X350) have issues is with the suspension components that do not seem to last long. In particular the various bushes on the front and rear lower wishbones wear out earlier than one would expect. Oncwe these were eye-wateringly expensive, but nowadays, with internet suppliers keen for business, the parts are now merely a bit expensive. Best thing to do is have a look at the S-type forum to see what owners have trouble with. Generally speaking though, the petrol S-types are reliable cars.

3. Thanks vicarius31 thanked for this post
    Barney100golf
    you can download a PDf workshop manual from my signature plus other stuff like user manuals Nav manuals and phone manuals enjoy the car

5. Thanks vicarius31 thanked for this post
    Post Thanks / Like
    Hi all,

Thanks a lot for your answers guys. I called the dealer, it seems the tranny oil change has been done, and the suspension too.