Page 6 of 9 FirstFirst ... 23456789 LastLast
Results 51 to 60 of 81

Thread: In Control Touch Pro is rubbish, agreed?

  1. #51
    Member dave-uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Norfolk
    Posts
    44
    Post Thanks / Like
    Will do mate, i've only had the car a few weeks and driven it for a few day before going offshore, my wife drove it once and loved it, but the keys are in Faraday pouches locked away, for security reason you understand lol, she has her own Ford. Richard at Norwich has been good so far, i did ask him when i picked the car up if there latest software was installed, but he told me they would only do an update if there was a problem. i asked him to ensure apple carplay is working, in a hope they update it, i have a Samsung lol. I'll check when when i get home. If its not don't i might have to intermittently have some problems mentioned
    Jaguar XJ Portfolio 2017 & Triumph Bonneville T120
    Utinque Paratus


  2. #52
    Super Moderator Ian D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Hampshire
    Posts
    8,000
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by PScott543 View Post
    Ian, am I right in understanding that there is now an option to have the front park sensors come on automatically, rather than when you go into reverse or manually?
    Only 18MY and newer got that, apparently can’t be retrofitted. Mine had that option from new.
    Current Car:
    2017 XE R-Sport 25t 250Ps 18MY.

    Previous Cars:
    2000 S-Type 3.0L SE Auto
    2004 X-Type 3.0L AWD SE Auto estate.
    2007 XK x150 4.2L Coupe

    Resident Super Moderator.
    V6 X-Type Oil Sump Replacement Guide


  3. #53
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Norfolk UK
    Posts
    187
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Ian D View Post
    Only 18MY and newer got that, apparently can’t be retrofitted. Mine had that option from new.
    My car was built October 17, so I guess is a MY18. How do you select the option?

    Edit:

    Don't worry! Got the car back and it’s there. Not sure it wasn’t before but never noticed the setting logo when in use before.

    New system seems to work work much better. Faster changes between radio stations, more sensitive volume, everything seems faster and more positive.

    Need to replace the SIM, which ran out two days ago, and log car into account then set up favourites again.

    So so far so good.
    Last edited by PScott543; 07-12-18 at 18:58.

  4. #54
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    Nottingham, UK
    Posts
    280
    Post Thanks / Like
    TouchPro Duo was first fitted to Velar

  5. #55
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Norfolk UK
    Posts
    187
    Post Thanks / Like
    Anyone know if you can assign short names to destinations? The voice system recognises 'home' but other addresses it gives me lists to choose from based on the first word, which are often not relevant, even if destination is in favourites.

    i can easily assign a person's name to each address, if that's doable.

  6. #56
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Norfolk UK
    Posts
    187
    Post Thanks / Like
    Well, I figured out how to assign short names but voice recognition still doesn’t pick them up. It works fine for ‘home’ but nothing else.

    Anyone tried postcodes?

    The system’s definitely faster and more responsive to touch. A bit more intuitive too. And the voice works much better now though still not perfect, for me, on the Nav.
    Last edited by PScott543; 08-12-18 at 17:04.

  7. #57
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Solihull
    Posts
    75
    Post Thanks / Like
    booked mine in for the update which failed
    Now booked in again to try in Jan
    I was told by dealer that it takes five hours for the update and about 10% fail
    How can it take 5 hours ?

  8. #58
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    Nottingham, UK
    Posts
    280
    Post Thanks / Like
    Activated Smartphone Pack yesterday, about 15 mins with all the resets once Pathfinder was running and connected

  9. #59
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Norfolk UK
    Posts
    187
    Post Thanks / Like
    Anyone know know if or when OTA updates might become available?

    I just tried to download the latest maps onto a data stick which held a full update from a couple of months ago. That download took about 30 hours and I hoped that this would be a true update, recognising the version already in the stick and just updating it.

    No such luck, it deletes the old and is telling me it’s another 30 hour or so download. I’m not doing that again.

  10. #60
    Member KeithLyall's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Bromsgrove, Worcestershire
    Posts
    44
    Post Thanks / Like
    30 hours seems an awfully long time. Even on the oldest PC in the house with USB 2.0 ports it only takes me 3 hours to download the Europe & Russia map, and if I remember right it took less than an hour on the wife's posh laptop with USB 3.0. You said you were downloading 'maps' - how many exactly?
    2017 F-Pace 2.0 i4 Diesel (180PS) Portfolio in Indus Silver
    2001 XK8 4.0 Coupe in Quartz
    1989 XJ40 4.0 Sovereign (gone but not forgotten)

Page 6 of 9 FirstFirst ... 23456789 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •