Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Lack of power, Black Smoke, Poor MPG

Post Thanks / Like

Lack of power, Black Smoke, Poor MPG

HI, Newbie here,
    I have a 2.2 X Type Estate, (no DPF).
    bellows black smoke, poor performance and bad MPG,
    have tried all the usual suspects, cleaned EGR and fitted blanking plate wit 8mm hole, replaced majority of hoses for turbo, cleaned intake manifold.

At a loss of what to try next????

Post Thanks / Like
    Try carrying out a pressure test on the inter-cooler, remove both hoses block one side and let in air at low pressure in the other. If there is a leak you're be able to hear it.
    2007 x type 2.2d S 6 speed, 132 ,000 and climbing.

Post Thanks / Like
    Perhaps turbo actuator is not operating well. That might not give it enough air to mix with the diesel.

Or the turbo vanes are stiff with dirt and not opening fully. A tin or two of turbo cleaner up the air intake can flush that out.
    2006 Black Jaguar X400 | 6 Speed Manual Transaxle - MMT6 | Series 60 | 2.2L Duratorq 16V TC (150PS) - Puma | 4 Door Saloon

Post Thanks / Like
    Thanks guys, tried the intercooler, heard no leaks.
    Actuator is working as it should.
    Which intake should I be spraying the turbo cleaner into?

The car has done 152000 miles, it also has the vibration, (possibly drive shafts) but I have seen some threads that suggest vibration could be injector issues.
    Could all my problems be linked to the injectors?

Post Thanks / Like
    Does seem typical of an intercooler pipe leak. They can be hard to find.

Post Thanks / Like
    My Step Dads 2.0 did that to me once, it was one of the bottom hoses that had come off, due to a corroded hose clip, the one located underneath.
    2009 (09) X-Type 2.2d SE Auto, Barbados Alloys Trim: Leather Ivory St Oyster Upr R/Wood 09 Paint: Tektite 2063 Grey. The longer I own it, the more I love it.

Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Neil1970 View Post
    T