Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: 175,000 mile 2001 Stype purchase - help

Post Thanks / Like

Cool 175,000 mile 2001 Stype purchase - help

I am new to Jaguars and find myself in a predicament. My wife owned a Daimler many years ago that looked a lot like the S-Type. On a lark I searched Craigslist for a Jaguar and found an S-type for only $1200. I was shocked at the low price and remarked (off hand) I would buy it just for fun at that price. The wife has quickly convinced herself she needs this Jaquar and is thrilled I am buying it for her for Christmas. Oh dear.

feel free to laugh at me....

She has driven it today and says it is fine, but she knows nothing except how to drive and enjoy a car. I'll see it tomorrow and have a mechanic look at it Monday. I am no mechanic but I can address non-drivetrain items.

Questions:

Does a 175,000 Jaguar, typically, have life left for her to drive it 20 miles without getting left on the side of the road?
    It's not a daily driver as she has a nice Camry for that.
    What problems should I look for, specific to this model?
    2001 JAGUAR S-TYPE
    SEDAN 4 DR
    4.0L V8 F DOHC 32V
    GASOLINE
    REAR WHEEL DRIVE

It seems to me wiser to get one with half the mileage for $5000 but she has fallen in love with it.

***new vehicle, an unrestored 70's VW Beetle would look nicer than the 2001 mentioned above. ***
    new Jaguar is a 2003 S-Type, Sedan 4dr Auto. 3.0 V6 gasoline RWD 75,639 miles
    condition truly looks brand new, even underneath.
    Last edited by gmac0518; 17-12-18 at 00:40. Reason: added specific details on car

Post Thanks / Like
    The first question is which year. Which motor.
    Then we will be able to tell you to look out for.
    Grumpy Old Git