Jaguar Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all, I am new to the jaguar scene and looking to buy my first xj but need some advice.
The questions may be a bit numpty so please forgive me.

1. I am looking at a 2004 xjr, 1 owner fsh and 120k on the clock, is this mileage to high, do xjr's go on past this or is it on its last?

2. What are the service intervals and service costs like on these cars (not main dealer) , I am not worried about fuel costs as I only do about 30 miles a week although that may change if I buy an xj?

3. Do xjr'S have a chain or cam belt and if it is a belt how often do they recommend a change .

Any help and tips would be a big help.

Thanks

·
Registered
1,475 Posts
the 4.2 V8 is pretty bullet proof, I wouldn't worry about that mileage at all

·
Registered
1,543 Posts
as with pretty-much any vehicle, the mileage its done is irrelevant. I have two Range |Rover p38s - one with 70,000 miles and another with 270,000 miles. the higher mileage car is by far the better and "tighter" to drive.

Average mileage is 12,000 per year. significantly above or below that will give problems, as will a change in mileage per week.

X350s are easily upset, I would expect quite a few issues immediately if you're only going to be doing 30 miles a week. More use significantly improves the reliability

·
Registered
577 Posts
In answer to Neill's third question, the V8 models are all chain cam engines. The 2.7 diesel is the only belt driven model and requires a new belt at 10 years or 105K miles. The main service issue is proof of regular oil and filter changes (once a year or every 10K) to ensure long life. Of possible concern with a 13 year old XJR is whether the 'valley pipe' under the supercharger manifold has been changed. (see threads on here for age-related the problem)