Jaguar Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all. I'm new to the X Type section, but I was a member in the XKR/X150 forum (when it was still a 'current model' :???:). Password issues aside, I'm now a 'new member', again.

- I have just bought a 3.0 2002 X Type SE automatic with 66,000 miles (DVLA/ MOT history checked) for a 4000 mile road trip. Long story short, I took a punt on an accident damaged car (cosmetic) and on the 150 mile drive home I noticed a few issues. I've tried the forum search function, but can't find anything relevant.

1 - Check engine light. Not so much the light itself, but the fact that my ELM327 bluetooth OBD reader wont connect. It works on my 2007 XKR fine, but not on this 2002 X Type. Any ideas ?
There is a list of codes in the glove box from an auto electrician dated last March, mostly O2 sensors and wheel speed / ABS sensor related, and B1582 "Dimmer lighting short to earth", B1676 "Battery voltage outside of nominal value", B2879 "Fuel Suction pump", and U1900 and U2603 CAN BUS "Instrument cluster function disturbed". The faults were apparently cleared at that time.

2 - Droning noise from the front end when moving, sounds like a cross between a playing card rubbing on bike spokes at low speed, and the turbo props on a Dash 8 at 70 mph. Rises and falls with road speed, not engine speed. Sounds slightly worse turning left. I'm hoping it's a wheel bearing and not a transfer case issue. It's not LOUD loud, but loud enough.