Jaguar Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My boyfriend has a 2001 XK8 and wants to add the leaping Jaguar hood ornament.
My local dealership says because of the location of the current emblem to the radiator, this is not advised. I have seen other info that says if it is pre facelift it should go on rather easily. If it is post facelift there is a modification that can be made (drill holes) to install it. How do i know if it is pre or post facelift?
Do you recommend this modification?
You can probably tell by my questions, I am new at this.
Thanks so much for the input!

·
Registered
621 Posts
Hello and welcome...for me the leaping Jag does not go with modern cars...much better is a chrome mesh grille...fitted one last week, everyone loves it. Also I am in Florida next week if he needs help putting it on......???

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hello and welcome...for me the leaping Jag does not go with modern cars...much better is a chrome mesh grille...fitted one last week, everyone loves it. Also I am in Florida next week if he needs help putting it on......???
Thanks, and I agree that it doesn't quite go with the newer cars. I will see if he is interested in the mesh grille.
We can check with our local guy but thanks for the offer, very nice of you!

·
7,785 Posts
I am not too sure about the USA regs but could it be considered illegal too? Did they not stop people using them as they were a hazard to pedestrians if they ended up on your bonnet/hood ?

·
Premium Member
17,880 Posts
Hi Pamela, welcome aboard...

The XK8 never had the leaper installed, so it would be retro fitted as some have done as you may know. The adding of the leaper is quite a big thing in the US / Canada and some have even been known to add to much much newer vehicles, even new XJ's and F types etc.