Audio Connectivity Module (ACM) FAQ’s, Tips & Tricks

jagmadxkr

New member
Joined
Sep 8, 2010
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Points
0
thats the point... you take the lid off your radio Headunit and you make the modification to fit the aux in cable.

it IS done in the radio headunit

and he has his email address on his site. You can also PM him here... benwillcox

as for everything being hard... you’re trying to update an in-car system that was designed nearly 20 years ago.

fair enough if you don’t want to do this... but you don’t seem to want to go down the fm modulator route so this is your next best option.

Hi don't misunderstand me I wasn't being so serious when I said why is everything so hard! That's why I made the joke it was the other half shouting it?
I had it in my head that the CD mod was easily do-able for me but no Ai-Net cable to tap into. Grrrrr
If the link you pointed me to is for the head unit mod why is it entitled
Part 4 - CD player mod for audio aux-in and steering wheel control ? with pics of a cd player bring modded.
No signs of a head unit. Or as I said am I being dumb and missing something?
Many thanks Pete
 

MarkFY

Senior member
I Have Donated !
Joined
Jan 2, 2017
Messages
2,806
Reaction score
215
Points
78
Location
Thornton-Cleveleys, Lancashire
If the link you pointed me to is for the head unit mod why is it entitled
Part 4 - CD player mod for audio aux-in and steering wheel control ? with pics of a cd player bring modded.
No signs of a head unit. Or as I said am I being dumb and missing something?
Many thanks Pete
The pics are of a cd/radio headunit. If you have a tape/radio headunit, then there is a thread on the forum that explains how to add an aux input to that.
 

jagmadxkr

New member
Joined
Sep 8, 2010
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Points
0
The pics are of a cd/radio headunit. If you have a tape/radio headunit, then there is a thread on the forum that explains how to add an aux input to that.

Erm? If??
Below is the 1st part of my 1st post......

Hi all sorry but struggling for time and only have a week to sort out Aux in my x350 Xjr 2003.
Before our jaunt across Europe.
Thought I could go in through the CD hack in the boot but my cd only has Fiber optic connections?
It doesn't have the NAV screen just 2 LCD screens top one does Climate and btm Radio etc with Tape at the bottom.

Hmmmm.

Any who!! No matter.
Here is a quick update for anyone interested. After deciding that i might not be able to sort this in time for our trip.
https://circuit-days.co.uk/tours-schedule-alpine-grand-tour
I thought I had better have a plan Bee so scoured the web for info on the best FM transmitter which after some reading up,
I ordered one of these https://www.amazon.com/dp/B000FV8P24/?tag=787747-20
It arrived today and as it happens Plan Bee turned out to be a real stinger. the sound quality is quite astounding and I set it to quite a strong radio frequency, classic FM to see how
much interference there would be traveling around Europe driving into different stations and to my surprise again it drowned Classic FM right out, no interference at all.
So I have to say don't think I will be hacking in anywhere. The gain to my ears would be minimal if any,
And just so you know I like my music I currently use Sennheiser HD650's through a Valve amp at home and I use a Ffio Alpen headphone amp when I'm out.
So all in all I'm quite the happy bunny.
Thanks all.
Pete
 

MarkFY

Senior member
I Have Donated !
Joined
Jan 2, 2017
Messages
2,806
Reaction score
215
Points
78
Location
Thornton-Cleveleys, Lancashire
Erm? If??
Below is the 1st part of my 1st post......

Hi all sorry but struggling for time and only have a week to sort out Aux in my x350 Xjr 2003.
Before our jaunt across Europe.
Thought I could go in through the CD hack in the boot but my cd only has Fiber optic connections?
It doesn't have the NAV screen just 2 LCD screens top one does Climate and btm Radio etc with Tape at the bottom.

Hmmmm.

Any who!! No matter.
Here is a quick update for anyone interested. After deciding that i might not be able to sort this in time for our trip.
https://circuit-days.co.uk/tours-schedule-alpine-grand-tour
I thought I had better have a plan Bee so scoured the web for info on the best FM transmitter which after some reading up,
I ordered one of these https://www.amazon.com/dp/B000FV8P24/?tag=787747-20
It arrived today and as it happens Plan Bee turned out to be a real stinger. the sound quality is quite astounding and I set it to quite a strong radio frequency, classic FM to see how
much interference there would be traveling around Europe driving into different stations and to my surprise again it drowned Classic FM right out, no interference at all.
So I have to say don't think I will be hacking in anywhere. The gain to my ears would be minimal if any,
And just so you know I like my music I currently use Sennheiser HD650's through a Valve amp at home and I use a Ffio Alpen headphone amp when I'm out.
Thanks all.
Pete

as I said... you can modify the headunit regardless of whether it is a tape unit or a cd unit and fit an aux socket with a bit of soldering.

having said that, I would always have recommended you go for an fm modulator based solution but you seemed so against it that I tried my best to offer you an alternative. My apologies.
 

EskoS

New member
Joined
Dec 27, 2012
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
Espoo, Finland
There seems to be different firmware versions of the ACM:

V1.05 for XK https://www.dension.com/jaguar/?agree=0&xk=0
V1.09 for X, S and XJ https://www.dension.com/jaguar/index.php?agree=0&sc=0
V2.1 for Mercedes http://www.dension.com/files/gateway...2b-fw_2.10.zip

I have a 2006 XK and the ACM firmware version installed is V1.05.
It does not work properly (though better than the originally installed version).

The question is: are the V1.09 and V2.1 compatible with my XK? At least they are separated at Densions web-site.

The V2.1 seems to have very positive comments by the X, S and XJ owners, but has anybody updated the ACM of XK to V2.1?
 
Top