Jaguar Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi all

New Member here... Just bought a 54 plate X-Type 2.5 AWD this morning.
Metallic BR Green with Aero kit and smart 18" alloys. Looks the dog's.
Very pleased, done 150 miles and no complaints. Great car.

When I got home and switched the engine off, I could hear a buzzing sound coming from behind the central air vents.
It was still there 10 minutes later... What on earth is it?
I'm guessing it's something straight forward - but I'm no Jag expert!

Also, really I wanted a 3.0 litre, but the look of this one swung it.
Is there anything I can do without breaking the bank to get a bit more bhp?
It doesn't feel as quick as the 2.5 V6 MG ZT I've just sold...

Also... :-D
The rubber trims running along both rear doors (at the bases of the window apertures) are severely bubbled; I assume rust underneath on the door metal. Odd, but the front ones are ok... Can I buy replacements from anywhere? It's the only visible fault on the body work. Seems a shame not to sort it out.

Thanks anyone who can help!

·
Registered
357 Posts
That noise is most likely coming from the 4 or 5 small slits in the dash to the Left of the Steering wheel. It is a cabin temperature sensor fan, or something like that. Someone will be along soon to tell you the correct name for it.

If it is too loud, a short blast or two from a can of compressed air can sometimes lower the noise, it did with mine. Do NOT use an air hose though, way too powerful.

·
Registered
690 Posts
Search on here for those window rubbers - several people have said how they found a replacement / refurbished them...

For that air sensor - try a straw and puff hard - if not then can of compressed air...
And enjoy it - best of luck

·
Registered
3,034 Posts
Waist seals is the word, and the air sampling fan runs on for quite a while after key out, and is prone to clogging up!

·
Registered
357 Posts