Jaguar Forum banner
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
697 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a little confused about driver-less cars which are being developed. Should anything happen to me and my wife ends up on her own will she be able to buy a driver-less car as she hasn't got a driving licence? Will blind people be able to use these cars on there own, and could they be sent without a passenger to collect something?

·
Registered
22,331 Posts
They will save 25,000 (or maybe many more) idiots round the world who kill themselves and others in crashes each year.

And 50,000 odd per year in the UK alone who crash into others.

The insurance companies will be happy.

·
Registered
1,712 Posts
They will save 25,000 (or maybe many more) idiots round the world who kill themselves and others in crashes each year.
Possibly but it will still depend on the ability to detect obstacles so if something can't be detected, or if the sensors are fooled, the car could still hit it.

And 50,000 odd per year in the UK alone who crash into others.
See above

The insurance companies will be happy.
I very much doubt that, if autonomous vehicles have fewer accidents premiums will have to be reduced and there will be fewer garages charging premium rates for "Insurance" repairs so they won't be happy either.

·
Premium Member
11,060 Posts
Who's name is the insurance in. The Owner or the car. How can the insurance Co's give a quote on an unknown quantity. When a police car pulls up behind one with its two's and blues on how will the car know it has to stop:-? How will they determine blame for anything if the cars computers make a mistake:-? The list is endless.

Roger

·
Administrator
10,093 Posts