Jaguar Forum banner
1 - 20 of 76 Posts

·
Registered
6,999 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Unfortunately I have noticed that both front tyres are wearing heavily on the very inside edge. Never had that before, especially so quickly as the tyres are fairly new and still have 5mm + of tread on them.
I'm guessing that something in the front suspension is worn. Everything in the suspension is factory original and has done 50k miles.
Visually everything looks fine, I can't really see any excessive movement with a pry bar but I'm not an expert at this.
I seem to recall that a few years ago the dealer said that the banana arms were leaking but not worth replacing at that stage. I guess they must have fluid filled bushes, they also look quite rusty. Could these cause the inner edge wear. Any suggestions?

·
Premium Member
23,059 Posts
May be worth getting those arms checked and or replaced first and then have the geometry tested on completion.

Reactions: MrKis

·
Registered
5,575 Posts
get the tracking checked first.

Mine is at 145k on mostly all original suspension components minus the drop links, no wear at all..

Reactions: MrKis

·
Registered
6,999 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 · (Edited)
Hmmm, this is my dilemma. I'm sure the tracking could be adjusted back to spec but would that be papering over the cracks if there is something worn in the suspension?

Nothing seems to knock or have play in it but those tyres have worn very quickly and only on the very inside edge. Tracking was done 15k miles ago.

Cords are showing on the inside edge. The three central water channels are worn pretty evenly.

aIMG_3193.JPG

·
Premium Member
23,059 Posts
I'm sure the tracking could be adjusted back to spec but would that be papering over the cracks if there is something worn in the suspension?
Exactly why it should be checked out first before having the geometry done.(y)

·
Registered
986 Posts