Hello, from a new member!

Big Kitty

Reaction score
I live in northern Virginia and own a 2001 Jaguar XJ8, which I love all to pieces. No, it's never been wrecked, just a figure of speech ;-)

Here is my "debut" question, and please, all, try not to laugh when I get to the "cassette" part...

My Jag has the factory equipped Alpine audio system that has a CD changer in the trunk/boot and also includes a quite decent cassette deck integrated with the tuner and audio controls. As an audio professional, I know how fine a cassette can sound when made on properly calibrated decks, of which I have several in my studio. For years, I have been making "for the road" mixes of my favorite music and the Alpine system's deck reproduced them nicely.

Of late, however, the cassette part of the system has had badly diminished high frequencies, on both channels - i.e. muddy sound on cassettes of known high quality. It sounds like what you'd get with a badly fouled playback head, and it occurs whether or not Dolby NR is selected. I've made several attempts at cleaning the tape path with Alsop wet cleaning cassettes, with no improvement noted. What I'd really like to do is go after it with the good old fashioned cotton swab and denatured alcohol, but design of the deck (dropping cassette into transport after inserting in slot) does not allow for this. I use only premium cassettes, so I realize it could be a failure downstream from the head that's causing the crappy H/F response, if the head is not physically fouled by oxide residue.

Anyhow, my reason for posting is to find out if any on the forum may know of a really skilled shop that services these units. The factory "re-manufactured" units - if one is even still available - are ridiculously high priced - especially if this is nothing more than a fouled head or perhaps one that has internally failed and can be replaced.