Jaguar Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Im new to this so forgive me if I dont give you all the info first time. I have a 5 year old 2.7 diesel Automatic twin turbo Jaguar. Hadno problems ever until now. Was driving along the road head a big knock underneath and the car slowed down to a stop. Had to get the AA to tow me to a garage. Jaguar had it for 20 mins and said I would need a new engine as it wouldnt start. The gear stick moves but they say they would have to take it to bits to find out what was wrong and they would recommend me getting a new engine which would cost me £9,000 for supply and fit !!! Single woman, blonde, did they see me coming or is the the case? I cannot get to work now and will soon lose my job if I dont get this car fixed or have to find myself an alternative. They said it would be best scrapped for about £200
The car has £60,000 miles on it and until now never had a problem. Im now carless, nearly job less and devasted. Live in Newcastle upon Tyne and ideas? The crankshaft is seemingly ceized. Is it worth me trying to get the gearbox and engine out to see if I can see what part is broken? The tork convertor bolts on the fly wheel need to be un done to remove the gearbox but the crankshaft wont move ??? How do I get gearbox out and how do I get the catalitic convertors off to remove the gearbox as I cant get to the bolts with a spanner. Im trying to do this by myself with a set of ramps and a cd off the internet. God Im trying to save my car and job any ideas??

G

·