Loose Timing chain

Phillip

Reaction score
I bought a 1968 Series 1.5 /4.2 L from a salvage yard with good body and interior but suspect engine. I have no knowledge of history of whether the engine was running before or not. One of the first things I did was test the cylinder compression. Four cylinders had reasonable pressure but two were bad so I removed the head and had it professionally rebuilt.. So I know the valves and valve chains were working before removing the head.

After the head was reinstalled, I set cam shafts correcting and turned engine to tdc on compression stroke. Then I installed one bolt on each cam sprocket and turned the crack to get to the second bolt hole - all carefully following jaguar and haynes maintenance manual procedures.

The problem is that when turning the crank (only about 30 to 40 degrees), the TOP CHAIN DOES NOT ROTATE although the bottom one does and the intermediate gear rotates. I took out the cam sprocket bolts are tried again unsuccessfully about 4 more times. always ensuring that the eccentric sprocket/idler gear was positioned down as far as possible. (I found max up and down of idler gear is about 1 cm, which is about right considering dimensions of the eccentric).

It seems clear it me that the top chain and cam shaft were working ok before I removed the head. Otherwise, for example, the valves would be damaged by pistons during compression tests but they weren't. So the problem must not be due to a worn chain or something like that. The biggest possibility is that I did something wrong in installing the head and chain sprockets but I can not figure what that might have been.

Can anyone suggest why the top chain does not rotate when adjusted as tight as possible and when the crank and lower timing chain are turning ok?

Phillip

Reaction score